Home -> View Lot

Collection of (27) 1800s-1900s U.S. Presidential Cabinet Members Cut Signatures

Lot Number 1003

Quantity: Bid Starts: 07/21/2023 12:00:00 
Bid Open: 150.00  Bid Ends: 08/03/2023 22:00:00 
Bid Count: Overtime: 30 Minutes
Currently: 0.00  Time Left: Ended
View Count: 18638   
    Previous Lot <--> Next Lot

A wealth of political autographs surfaces, with this collection of (27) U.S. Presidential Cabinet Members cut signatures. These movers and shakers served between 1801-1902, as members of the inner circles for thirteen different presidents, including Thomas Jefferson, Andrew Jackson, Abraham Lincoln, Ulysses S. Grant, and Theodore Roosevelt. Given their considerable age, these high profile signatures remain pleasing examples, ranging ("6" to "9") in potency. Auction LOA from JSA.

Featured are:

 (2) Levi Lincoln, Attorney General for Thomas Jefferson;

Richard Rush, Attorney General for James Madison;

(2) Benjamin Franklin Butler, Attorney General for Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren; 

(2) Richard Mentor Johnson, Vice President for Martin Van Buren;

Joel Roberts Poinsett,
Secretary of War for Martin Van Buren;

Abel P. Upshur, Secretary of State for John Tyler;

John Canfield Spencer, Secretary of War for John Tyler;

(2) Edward Everett, Secretary of State for Millard Fillmore;

Howell Cobb, Secretary of the Treasury for James Buchanan;

Horatio King, Postmaster General for James Buchanan; 

Hugh McCulloch, Secretary of the Treasury for Abraham Lincoln;

Gideon Welles, Secretary of the Navy for Abraham Lincoln;

Lot M. Morrill, Secretary of the Treasury for Ulysses S. Grant; 

Alphonso Taft, Secretary of War for Ulysses S. Grant; 

(2) John Andrew Jackson Creswell, Postmaster General for Ulysses S. Grant; 

James G. Blaine, Secretary of State for James A. Garfield; 

Walter Q. Gresham, Postmaster General for Chester A. Arthur;

Levi P. Morton, Vice President for Benjamin Harrison;

Thomas F. Bayard, Secretary of State for Grover Cleveland;

John G. Carlisle, Secretary of the Treasury for Grover Cleveland;

John Davis Long, Secretary of the Navy for William McKinley;

Leslie Mortier Shaw, Secretary of the Treasury for William McKinley.


Pictures  (Click on Photo to Enlarge)